Driving while intoxicated is illegal, and there are a number of different substances that can cause intoxication. Most people know it’s illegal to drive under the influence of illegal drugs or alcohol with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher. But some legal, prescription drugs can also cause intoxication.
In Oklahoma, state law defines several different types of charges for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated, and each charge is slightly different. These include:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Driving while impaired (DWI)
- Actual physical control (APC)
- Driving under the influence with a child in the vehicle
Fourth-Offense DUIs in Oklahoma
With previous DUI charges, the potential punishment associated with your charges will be more severe. The state takes fourth-offense DUIs very seriously. They include significant jail time and steep fines.
What Is a Habitual Offender?
After multiple DUI charges, the Department of Public Safety may deem you a habitual offender, meaning they consider you a threat to society. You could lose your driver’s license for a substantial period of time. The DPS will likely require rehabilitation, and you’re much more likely to be sent to jail without help from a defense attorney.
Is a Fourth-Offense DUI a Felony or Misdemeanor in Oklahoma?
Fourth-offense DUIs are felonies in Oklahoma.
What Is the Potential Jail Time for a Fourth-Offense DUI in Oklahoma?
The potential jail time for a fourth-offense DUI in Oklahoma is one to 20 years.
What Are the Potential Fines for a Fourth-Offense DUI in Oklahoma?
The potential fines for a fourth-offense DUI in Oklahoma are up to $10,000 or more. It depends on your case and circumstances.
What Is the License Suspension Period for a Fourth-Offense DUI in Oklahoma?
If DPS deems you a habitual offender, they’ll revoke your license for at least one year. Following your license suspension, DPS will require an ignition interlock device until they deem you no longer a threat to society. The criminal consequences of a fourth-offense DUI will likely include drug court if you want to have any hope of avoiding jail time.
Do You Have to Attend DUI School for a Fourth-Offense DUI in Oklahoma?
Yes, you will very likely be required to attend DUI School for a fourth-offense DUI in Oklahoma.
Do You Have to Attend a Victim Impact Panel for a Fourth-Offense DUI in Oklahoma?
Yes, you will very likely be required to attend a Victim Impact Panel for a Fourth-offense DUI in Oklahoma.
How Are Fourth-Offense DUIs Treated if the BAC is Above 0.15?
A BAC of 0.15 or higher will result in your charge being changed from a non-aggravated DUI to an aggravated DUI with more serious consequences.
Fourth-Offense DUI Defense Strategies
If you’re facing a fourth-offense DUI, you’re probably worried about the severe consequences of being convicted. Don’t lose hope – with the right representation, it is possible to get your charges reduced or dismissed. You need an attorney for fourth-offense DUI charges if you want to improve your chances of a successful outcome.
The Hunsucker Legal Group is known for getting challenging DUI cases reduced or dismissed. Our clients trust our experience to help them regain control over their futures.
Schedule a free, no obligation case evaluation online to learn more.
FREE Case Evaluations
Fill Out A Free Online Evaluation Today!