People convicted of DUI in Oklahoma are required by state law to attend a Victim Impact Panel (VIP) as part of their probation. At the VIP, people whose lives have been affected by drunk driving speak about their experience and the effects drunk driving has had on them to demonstrate the unintended consequences of drinking and driving. It is designed as an awareness program.
In addition to DUI involving alcohol, people convicted of Actual Physical Control (APC) charges, Driving Under the Influence of Drugs (DUI-D), and other alcohol-related charges are also required to attend a VIP. All 77 counties across Oklahoma include VIP as part of sentencing. It is not uncommon to see it as part of sentencing in Driving While Impaired (DWI) as well as other alcohol related cases especially if the person charged is young.
What Do I Need to Bring to the VIP?
You are required to show a photo ID. Some counties may require specific documentation as well.
How Long Does a VIP Take and What to Expect?
The session typically lasts about two hours. You will attend with other attendees where you will hear three speakers discuss in a non-threatening way how DUI has affected their lives. Then there will be a short video.
What does VIP cost?
The cost of VIP is $75.00. They only accept cashiers checks and money orders made payable to Victim’s Impact Panel of Oklahoma. Credit/debit cards and cash are not accepted.
When and Where?
VIP programs are offered monthly in all counties in Oklahoma. To find the closest program, contact VIP of Oklahoma. Programs are also offered on Saturdays in some areas.
Do I need an Appointment?
No, walk ins are allowed.
Is there an Online Version?
Although online VIPs are offered, Oklahoma does not accept online certificates as Oklahoma law requires the attendance at an actual program.
VIP vs. the Alcohol/Drug Assessment
The VIP is different and separate from the alcohol/drug assessment that most DUI sentences also require. To complete the drug/alcohol assessment, people convicted of DUI must submit to an interview with a licensed drug and alcohol counselor who will seek to understand the role substance use plays in your life. The counselor will then recommend treatment options to help you manage substance use issues.
The counselor may recommend a variety of options ranging from a minimum 10 hour DUI school up to and including in-patient rehab program with required follow-up care.
Although the assessment, VIP and DUI School are required upon conviction, we generally recommend getting these completed early so it may be used in negotiations with the District Attorney’s Office or discussed with Judge if appropriate.
VIP vs. DUI School
Formally known as the Alcohol and Drug Substance Abuse Course (ADSAC), “DUI School” is a 10- or 24-hour course that educates people convicted of DUI on the dangers and possible consequences of drinking while intoxicated. The licensed counselor will make the determination on which course is appropriate,
You Can Fight Your DUI Charge
Being arrested does not mean you will be convicted. The Hunsucker Legal Group has a strong record of having DUI and other alcohol and drug charges dismissed or reduced in court. Schedule a free, no obligation case evaluation online or call our office at 405-231-5600.
FREE Case Evaluations
Fill Out A Free Online Evaluation Today!