In Oklahoma, there are two different types of speeding laws, a basic speeding law, and an absolute limits law.
Basic Speeding Law
The basic speeding law requires all motorists to drive at a safe speed. What is considered “safe” depends on the circumstances. For example, driving 60 mph on a road during a sunny, clear day might be safe, whereas going that same speed on the same road during icy weather at night might be considered dangerous and a violation of the basic speeding law.
Absolute Limits Law
Oklahoma’s absolute limits speeding law is very straightforward. If there is a fixed speed limit and you exceed that speed limit, you violate the law. There are some typical speed limits assigned to certain roads in Oklahoma, such as:
- 25 mph in most school zones
- 35 mph on state park highways
- 55 mph on most county roads
Consequences of a speeding law violation
If you’ve violated a speeding law in Oklahoma, some of the penalties you could face include a fine, jail time, or both. The maximum amount of jail time goes up depending on whether you are a first time offender or have been jailed for speeding in the past year. Fines also typically increase in amount depending on how much you exceeded the speed limit.
How we can help
If you’ve been given a speeding or traffic violation, it is important to understand that you do not have to accept this charge without a fight. If you have questions or want to fight back against your violation, it is a good idea to speak with an attorney to answer your questions and guide you through the legal process.
Contact the Hunsucker Legal Group today to schedule a free review of your case.
FREE Case Evaluations
Fill Out A Free Online Evaluation Today!