Oklahoma Driver’s License Law Prior to November 1 2019

Read Our DUI Case Success Stories

Hunsucker Legal Group's Goal Is Winning Results

If you were arrested for DUI or APC before November 1, 2019, there were different laws in place at that time that would control.  At the time of your arrest, you should have been given an Officer’s Affidavit and Notice of Revocation.  This Notice would have advised the arrestee that they had 30 days to request an administrative hearing from the Department of Public Safety. If this notice was not received, the person would automatically go under revocation 30 days after arrest.

Upon reinstatement, there may have been additional mandatory requirements for an ignition interlock device. From 2011 till 2019,Oklahoma had the Erin Swezey Act, which mandated installation of the ignition interlock device after a person’s license is reinstated under certain circumstances. . If the license revocation is your first and if your blood alcohol content was .15%, or if you refused the test, then you would be required to install an ignition interlock device for a period of 18 months after your 180-day revocation period.

If you want to drive during the 180-day revocation period, you will have to install an interlock during that time. If it is your first revocation and you blow between a .08 and .14, then you would not have the additional 18-month interlock requirement. If it is your second license revocation within a 10-year period, the license loss is one year, which can be modified to allow driving with an interlock device. After reinstatement, the Erin Swezey Act required the installation of an interlock for an additional four years. If it is your third revocation during a 10-year period, the revocation period is three years, which could be modified with an additional five years of the interlock after reinstatement.

If your revocation is from an arrest prior to November 1, 2019, then you may have different requirements and different ways to attack the requirements.  In these circumstances, it is vital to take advantage of our free no obligation consultation with our DPS and License Specialist Attorney Brian Morton at the Hunsucker Leal Group.

FREE Case Evaluations

Fill Out A Free Online Evaluation Today!

Ask A Question

Get Started Now

DUI Case Wins

Read Here

Helpful Videos

Watch Here
Real Time Web Analytics