When faced with a DUI charge, it is easy to become depressed, upset, or even angry at the situation. While it is natural to have an emotional reaction to a distressing situation, you need to be able to move past these emotions, assess the situation with a clear head, and take proactive steps toward getting your life back on track. The case managers and attorneys at the Hunsucker Legal Group are here to help you deal with these feelings and assist you in obtaining assistance or any help you need during this difficult time.
Dealing with Law Enforcement Officers
Many people make their situation infinitely worse by getting angry with the police officer at the scene of the arrest. This is a HUGE mistake. Although you may feel upset, you should ALWAYS remain polite and professional toward law enforcement agents. Remember, you do not have to answer any incriminating questions or submit to field sobriety tests. If you choose to refuse the tests, you should do so in a calm, polite manner.
Most people become very anxious at the sight of blue lights in their rearview mirror and their nervousness may affect the ability to speak clearly and intelligently. Remember, just because you are arrested for DUI or APC does not necessarily mean that you are guilty.
What to Do Post-Arrest
The first thing you need to do IMMEDIATELY after being arrested for DUI is to contact us for a free consultation. We want to do this as quickly as possible while the facts are still fresh in your mind. During the consultation, we will explain in detail what you are facing as well as any possible issues with your case. If you are not able to meet with us immediately, then it is important to contact the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) to request an administrative license hearing. By state law, you only have 30 days from the time of your arrest to request this hearing; if you do not request the hearing, then your license will be automatically revoked on the 30th day following your arrest and you will have no chance to avoid a license loss.
Our experienced DUI defense attorney will be able to request the DPS hearing on your behalf; however, the 30-day rule still applies, so it is imperative that you retain legal representation as quickly as possible.
Oklahoma DUI: One Charge, Two Actions
Most people don’t realize that when you are charged with DUI in Oklahoma, you actually are facing two separate actions. One is a criminal charge that is heard in court either by a judge or a jury; the other is a civil action against your driving privileges. This action is completely administrative in nature and is carried out by the Department of Public Safety—the same agency that issues driver’s licenses.
The Hunsucker Legal Group—Aggressive DUI Representation in Oklahoma
If you have been charged with DUI in Oklahoma, call the Hunsucker Legal Group in Oklahoma City. You can schedule a free, no-obligation consultation to discuss your case by calling 405-231-5600 or filling out the simple online request form.
FREE Case Evaluations
Fill Out A Free Online Evaluation Today!