Depending on the factors of your case, you could be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle if you are convicted of DUI or if you are not successful at the driver’s license DPS administrative hearing. An ignition interlock device acts as a sort of “breathalyzer” in your car that is attached to the dashboard. When the lock is engaged, you will not be able to start the engine; you must unlock the device by blowing into the machine, which detects alcohol in your breath. The device will only unlock after an alcohol-free breath sample has been provided. The length of time will vary depending on the fact of your case but will be anywhere from 180 days to eight years.
I have been charged with DUI in Oklahoma. Will I be required to install an ignition interlock device?
This answer depends on several factors. Oklahoma passed a law in 2011 called the Erin Swezey Act, which mandates installation of the ignition interlock device after a person’s license is reinstated. If the license revocation is your first and if your blood alcohol content was .15%, or if you refused the test, then you will be required to install an ignition interlock device for a period of 18 months after your 180-day revocation period. If you want to drive during the 180-day revocation period, you will have to install an interlock during that time. If it is your first revocation and you blow between a .08 and .14, then you will not have the additional 18-month interlock requirement. If it is your second license revocation within a 10-year period, the license loss is one year, which can be modified to allow driving with an interlock device. After reinstatement, the Erin Swezey Act requires the installation of an interlock for an additional four years. If it is your third revocation during a 10-year period, the revocation period is three years, which may be modified with an additional five years of the interlock after reinstatement.
Quality Representation in Oklahoma
If you have been charged with DUI in Oklahoma, call the Hunsucker Legal Group in Oklahoma City. Our attorneys have achieved excellent results in both criminal DUI court trials and DPS administrative license hearings. If you call within 15 days of being arrested, we can also request the DPS hearing on your behalf.
Call the Hunsucker Legal Group at 405-231-5600 to see how we can help you retain your driving privileges.
FREE Case Evaluations
Fill Out A Free Online Evaluation Today!