Most people are familiar with the dangers and criminal liabilities associated with drunk driving in an automobile. However, Oklahoma also has laws concerning drunk boating, which is commonly referred to as boating under the influence or BUI.
The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) for a boat operator is the same as that for a driver in a motor vehicle: .08%. This means that if you are caught operating a boat while having a BAC at or above .08%, you can be charged with BUI.
It is important to note that Oklahoma’s implied consent law also applies to boat operators. If you are pulled over by law enforcement on the water, you are required to submit to a chemical BAC test if the officer has reasonable suspicion to believe that you are under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.
Penalties for BUI
The penalty for a first-offense BUI is a fine of up to $1,000. For a second or subsequent BUI conviction, you will pay a fine between $1,000 and $2,500.
Will a BUI Affect My Driver’s License?
A charge of boating under the influence will NOT impact your regular driver’s license or your ability to operate a motor vehicle.
FREE Case Evaluations
Fill Out A Free Online Evaluation Today!