In Oklahoma, you may be charged with felony DUI if you have a prior DUI deferred sentence or conviction on your record. This look back period runs 10 years from the date of sentence completion of the previous case. However, deferred sentences prior to November 1, 2011 and/or sentences from non- courts of records may not be used to enhance a current case to a felony. A felony offense brings much stiffer penalties than a misdemeanor, and a felony conviction on your permanent record will be much more devastating than a lesser offense.
If convicted of felony DUI in Oklahoma, you could face penalties including suspension of your driver’s license, mandatory drug and alcohol abuse assessment and treatment, mandatory installation of an ignition interlock in your vehicle for up to eight years, community service, a fine of up to $5000, and a prison sentence ranging from one to 20 years.
DUI Causing Injury
Generally, a first-offense DUI will be charged as a misdemeanor. However, if you are involved in an accident while driving under the influence which results in great bodily injury to another individual, you could be charged with felony DUI, regardless of whether or not it is your first DUI.
Additionally, if the accident results in death, you could be charged with manslaughter. This charge has the potential to carry a life sentence in the state penitentiary.
15-day Window to Save Your Driver’s License
If you have been charged with DUI in Oklahoma, you should know that you only have 15 days from the time of the arrest to request an administrative hearing through the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS). At this hearing, the DPS will determine whether the Board of Tests regulations were followed during your arrest and the administration of sobriety tests. This hearing has nothing to do with the criminal charge of driving under the influence; rather, it is a civil action that deals solely with your driving privileges.
Experienced Oklahoma DUI Defense Firm
If you are facing a DUI charge in Oklahoma, you should contact the Hunsucker Legal Group, based in Oklahoma City. Our staff of knowledgeable attorneys litigates hundreds of DUI cases every year, and we represent our clients at both the DPS administrative hearing and the criminal court trial. If you contact us within 15 days of your arrest, we also can contact the DPS on your behalf to request the administrative license hearing.
Call the Hunsucker Legal Group at 405-231-5600 today to schedule a free, no-obligation case consultation.
FREE Case Evaluations
Fill Out A Free Online Evaluation Today!